I found out today how the state Supreme Court split up Luzerne County in its congressional redistricting map.

Some basic stuff we knew like the court put Hazleton, Pittston, Nanticoke and Wilkes-Barre in the district where U.S. Rep. Matt Cartwright, lives. He doesn’t represent Hazleton or Nanticoke now.

We knew the court split up Hazle Twp. between the 8th and 9th congressional districts. We didn’t know exactly how they did it. Now we do.

Cartwright lives in Moosic in the 8th district, which would contain all of Lackawanna, Pike and Wayne counties and parts of Luzerne and Monroe counties if the Supreme Court’s map withstands a Republican appeal to the U.S. Supreme Court.

Besides the four cities, the Luzerne part of the 8th contains all of Bear

Creek, Buck, Butler, Dallas, Dennison, Exeter, Fairview, Foster, Franklin, Hanover, Jackson, Jenkins, Kingston, Pittston, Plains, Plymouth, Rice,

Wilkes-Barre and Wright townships.

Hazle Twp.’s 2nd, 3rd, 4th and 5th voting districts are entirely in the 8th.

Hazle’s 1st voting district is split between the 8th and 9th by voting blocks in a way that only census and election officials will understand, but I’ll relay it anyway.

Hazle’s blocks 2073, 2074, 2075, 2076 and 2077 of census tract 216900 and blocks 1014, 1039, 1040, 1041, 1042, 1043, 1045, 2149, 2150 and 2151 of tract 217001 are in the 8th.

Simple, right?

Most of the people who live on those blocks will probably find out which congressional candidate they will see on their ballots when they vote.

Also in the 8th, these boroughs: Ashley, Avoca, Bear Creek Village, Courtdale, Dupont, Duryea, Edwardsville, Exeter, Forty Fort, Freeland,

Hughestown, Jeddo, Kingston, Laflin, Larksville, Laurel Run, Luzerne, Nuangola, Penn Lake Park, Plymouth, Pringle, Sugar Notch, Swoyersville, Warrior Run, West Hazleton, West Pittston, West Wyoming, White

Haven, Wyoming and Yatesville.

The 9th would consist of all of Carbon, Columbia, Lebanon, Montour and Schuylkill counties and parts of Luzerne, Berks and Northumberland counties.

The Luzerne County part would contain all of Black Creek, Conyngham,

Dorrance, Fairmount, Hollenback, Hunlock, Huntington, Lake, Lehman,

Nescopeck, Newport, Ross, Salem, Slocum, Sugarloaf and Union townships and the part of Hazle’s 1st voting district that isn’t in the 8th.

All of Conyngham, Dallas, Harveys Lake, Nescopeck, New Columbus and Shickshinny boroughs are also in the 9th.

In Luzerne County’s Back Mountain, that means Dallas Borough is in the 9th, but Dallas Twp. is in the 8th. Mountaintop is split up, too.

By the way, the new 9th is written so that it has no sitting congressman is in it. Rep. Lou Barletta, who represents the existing 11th district, which contains much of the new 9th, lives in Hazleton, now in the new 8th.