OK, the District 2 Team Tennis Championships are in the book.


Abington Heights Comets
2017 District 2-4 Class 3A Champions


Congratulations to Abington Heights, which won its fifth straight District 2-4 Class 3A Subregional Championship by dispatching of Delaware Valley, 3-0, and Williamsport, which represents District 4, 3-1 in the final.

Abington Heights 3, Williamsport 1

Singles: Bailey Harris (AH) over Kevin Zheng (WIL), 6-1, 6-2; Timmy Christman (AH) over Lukas Radulski (WIL), 7-6 (3), 6-1; Brian Ostrowski (AH) over Ty Jackson (WIL), 7-5, 6-4.

Doubles: Tiarnan Ferry-Michael LeBlanc (WIL) vs. Owen Holland-Arjun Iyengar, 6-2, 3-6, 5-3 (match halted); Joe Dinsmore-Will Knauth (WIL) over Rory Harris-Varun Iyengar, 6-1, 6-2.

Records: AH 16-0, WIL 13-2.



Congratulations to Wyoming Seminary, which defeated Scranton Prep, 3-1, and ending the Cavaliers’ four-year reign as the team champion.

Wyoming Seminary 3, Scranton Prep 1

Singles: Tarquin McGurrin (SP) over Eamon Gibbons 6-2, 6-1; Andrew Schukraft (WS) over Jack Habeeb 6-1, 6-2; Jerry Tang (WS) vs. Rhys Kelly 6-1, 4-6 (match halted).

Doubles: Michael Kim-Will Ziegler (WS) over Nick LaBelle-Erik Rinkunas, 6-2, 6-3; Andrew Kim-Duncan Lumia (WS) over Harrison Oven-Brendan Braatz, 6-0, 6-1.

Records: WS 13-0, SP 15-2.





With all of the excitement of the team tournament, my good man Mike Ognosky still found time to prepare the seeds for the District 2 Singles Tournaments and hold the draw.

The tournaments begin today at 9 a.m. at both Wilkes University and Kirby Park.


Today’s first round, 9 a.m.
at Wilkes University
Chris Kovalick (Hazleton Area) vs. Dev Patel (Scranton); Brandon Krupa (Crestwood) vs. Joseph Noreika (Delaware Valley); Nico Pugliese (West Scranton) vs. Noah Frace (WVW); Adam Long (North Pocono) vs. Zeke Berger (WVW); Ty Jackson (Williamsport) vs. Sachin Patel (Crestwood); Alex Sophabmixay (West Scranton) vs. Drew Gemmell (Hazleton Area).
Today’s second round
1-Bailey Harris (Abington Heights) vs. Kovalick/D.Patel winner; Krupa/Noreika winner vs. Jason Homschek (Pittston Area); 5-Mike Felins (North Pocono) vs. Tanner Badoud (Wallenpaupack); Pugliese/Frace winner vs. 4-Kevin Zheng (Williamsport); Long/Berger winner vs. 3-Tomas Reese (Delaware Valley); Jackson/S.Patel winner vs. 6-Parth Patel (Scranton); Zack Cykosky (Wallenpaupack) vs. Nicholas Alfano (Pittston Area); Sophabmixay/Gemell winner vs. 2-Timmy Christman (Abington Heights).

Abington Heights’ Bailey Harris is the No. 1 seed for the D2-4 Class 3A Subregional.
Photo by Warren Ruda / The Citizens’ Voice



Today’s play-in, 9 a.m.
at Kirby Park
Noah Jennings (Riverside) vs. Aaron Lewis (Wyoming Area).
Today’s first round, 9 a.m.
at Kirby Park
1-Tarquin McGurrin (Scranton Prep) vs. Jennings/Lewis winner; Alex Riccio (Dunmore) vs. John Toussaint (Dallas); Ben Hoal (Montrose) vs. Matthew Hamel (Coughlin); Jake Demler (Berwick) vs. 8-Jonathan Smith (MMI Prep); 5-Jimmy Tressler (Holy Cross) vs. Russell Kutish (Holy Redeemer); Avery Newhart (Tunkhannock) vs. Tom Betz (Mid Valley); Bobby Craig (Valley View) vs. Dominic Corma (Western Wayne); Hunter Stephens (Honesdale) vs. 4-Andrew Schukraft (Wyoming Seminary);
3-Austin Mackey (Valley View) vs. Kyle Creeden (Riverside); James Urso (Mid Valley) vs. Jack Tuman (Western Wayne); Mark Roginski (Dallas) vs. Chris Lewis (Montrose); Lucas Straley (Tunkhannock) vs. 6-Jack Habeeb (Scranton Prep); 7-Chris Kocon (Holy Redeemer) vs. Joe Skrip (Wyoming Area); Evan Spear (MMI Prep) vs. Billy McDonough (Dunmore); Roopesh Kumar (Berwick) vs. Logan Gregory (Holy Cross); Eli Harvey (Honesdale) vs. 2-Eamon Gibbons (Wyoming Seminary).


Scranton Prep’s Tarquin McGurrin is the No. 1 seed for the D2 Class 2A Tournament.
Photo by Warren Ruda / The Citizens’ Voice