Two hundred and thirty-one years ago today in Philadelphia the Constitution of the United States was agreed to and signed by 39 delegates to the Second Constitution Convention.

To mark this occasion, I decided to see what we had in our files on Constitution Day.

The first two items were cartoons by Times Cartoonist form 1966 and 1967.

The next item is this local history article from 1958 talking about a ceremony held marking Constitution Day in 1937. Here is the article –

After reading the article above, I went up to Nay Aug Park to see if the monument is still there.  It is. The boulder with the plaque is located on the right hand side of Mulberry St directly across from the Everhart Museum.

Monument in Nay Aug Park dedicated on Sept 17, 1937 marking the 150th Anniversary of the U.S. Constitution. The monument inscription reads – Presented to the People of Lackawanna County by the City of Philadelphia, S. Davis Wilson, Mayor; 150th Anniversary of the Constitution. Brian Fulton/Staff Photo

There is a second monument in the park dedicated to the 200th anniversary of the U.S. Constitution. This monument, also a boulder with a plaque, is located directly across from the 1937 monument in the front lawn of the Everhart Museum.

Monument dedicated on the 200th Anniversary of the U.S. Constitution in 1987. The inscription reads – ” Presented to City of Scranton, Lackawanna County – David J Wenzel, Mayor; Joe Corcoran, Ray Albergi, Charles Luger, Commissioners; on the 200th Anniversary of the U.S. Constitution 1787-1987; Constitution Bicentennial Commission Members – Robert Munley, Esq, president; Rabbi Milton Richman, vice president; William K Nasser, Sr. Treasurer; Charles Spano, Secretary; Walter A Buckman, Ann Cianflone, Esq., Michael Dudek, Donna Dunio, Joy Evans, Mary Ferrario, Rose Fiorani, Bill Hines, Judy Hochman D.E.D, Arlene Hopkins, Henry Janoski, Jerome Leeson, Rosebud Leventhal, Diana Lustig, Liza Mazzarella, David Miller, Esq., William Murray NEIU, Gillian Nevin, Violet Ofalt, Sr. M. Eamon O’Neill, IHM, Sr. Therese O’Rourke, Mary Rose Quinn, Marnie Rees, Bill Rinaldi Clerk of Judical Records, Muriel Rosenberg, Tim Scully, Joan Sharpe, Sr. Gilmary Speirs IHM, Mary Rita Stuckart, Theodore Zawistowski. Brian Fulton/Staff Photo

Related links:

Transcript of the U.S. Constitution – National Archives 

Q&A on the U.S. Constitution – National Archives